EU-Myanmar Task Force


The first EU-Myanmar Task Force will take place 13-15 November in Yangon and Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar. It will comprise several high-level events; providing a forum for debate on the progress made and challenges faced by Myanmar, the economic opportunities, as well as on the EU’s contribution.

The Task Force will bring together leading political, development and economic figures from both sides as well as civil society groups and NGOs to discuss Myanmar’s on-going social, political and economic transition including facilitating and delivering comprehensive EU support at all levels.

EU High Representative/Vice President of the European Commission Catherine Ashton will co-chair the Task Force together with Minister in the President’s office of Myanmar U Soe Thane. European Commission Vice-President Antonio Tajani (Industry and Entrepreneurship) and Commissioners Andris Piebalgs (Development and Cooperation) and Dacian Cioloş (Agriculture and Rural Development) will also participate in the Task Force. Myanmar will also be represented by President U Thein Sein, U Tin Naing, Minister in the President's Office, and Dr Kan Zaw, Minister for National Planning and Economic Development.


Visit the best bookies